24th Annual Napa Pain Conference


View Faculty

View presentations from the

24th Annual Napa Pain Conference

Click presentation titles to download content.

Presentations are provided with author permission. Not all presentations are available for download.

Plenary Sessions

3rd Annual Legacy Lecture [no distribution]

07:45am Elliot Krames MD

Breakout Sessions

Meritage A | 10:30 - 12:30

Evidence-Based Regenerative Medicine

10:30          Juvenile Chondrocytes & Stem Cells in Cartilage Repair
Speaker:     Jason Dragoo, MD

11:00          Review of PRP Techniques & Applications
Speaker:     Corey W. Hunter, MD

11:30          Intradiscal Biologics & Update on Phase III Intradiscal MSC RCT
Speaker:    Michael J. DePalma, MD

12:00         Autologous Derived Expanded Stem Cells for Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Speaker:    Timothy T. Davis, MD

Meritage B | 10:30 - 12:30

Meritage A | 2:00 - 4:00

New Waveforms of Spinal Cord Stimulation

2:00           Effectiveness of High Frequencies Other Than 10K
Speaker:    Leonardo Kapural, MD, PhD

2:30           24-Month HF-10 Data for Back & Leg Pain
Speaker:    B. Todd Sitzman, MD, MPH

3:00           The Science of Burst Stimulation
Speaker:    Peter Staats, MD, MBA

3:30           Alternative & Irregular Frequencies
Speaker:    Nandan Lad, MD

Meritage B | 2:00 - 4:00

Treating Cancer Pain & Patients

2:00             Cancer Rehabilitation: Assessing Pain & Functioning, Management Throughout Progression
Speaker:      Lisa Stearns, MD

2:30             Stim or Pump vs. Medical Management
Speaker:      Lisa Stearns, MD

3:00             Patient Strategies: Complementary Medicine & Group Visits
Speaker:      Julie Burch, MEd

3:30             Neurosurgery: When to Refer & What Neurosurgery Can Offer the Cancer Patient with Intractable Pain (No Distribution)
Speaker:      Erich Richter, MD

Meritage A | 4:30 - 5:45

Meritage B | 4:30 - 5:45

Plenary Sessions

5th Annual Lindahl Lecture: Life at the Frontier (No Distribution)

08:45am Warren M. Zapol, MD

Breakout Sessions

Meritage A | 10:30 - 12:30


10:30          MOA of Opioids
Speaker:    Gregory Scherrer, PhD, PharmD

11:00          Prudent Prescribing
Speaker:    Samir Sheth, MD

11:30          Risk Mitigation: Identifying High Risk Patients
Speaker:    Angella Barr, MD

12:00         Patient/Provider Agreements & Improving Patient Communication
Speaker:    Susan Verba, MFA

Meritage B | 10:30 - 12:30

Best Practices in Spinal Cord Stimulation

10:30             Best Practices in SCS
Speaker:       B. Todd Sitzman, MD, MPH

11:10             Clinical Evidence of SCS for Failed Back Surgery
Speaker:       Leo Kapural, MD, PhD

11:50             Recovery Programming
Speaker:       Avinash Ramchandani, MD, MBA

Meritage A | 2:00 - 4:00

Intrathecal Drug Delivery Systems (IDDS):
No Longer a Novel Therapy, Another Neuromodulation Solution to the Opioid Epidemic

2:00           Introduction & PACC Guideline Update: The Long Road to Improved Outcomes, Enhanced Professionalism & Credentialing
Speaker:    Lawrence Poree, MD, PhD, MPH

2:20           Cost Benefit Analysis: IDD vs. CMM for Cancer Pain
Speaker:    Lisa Stearns, MD

2:40           Lessons Learned from Failure Analysis Used to Improve Success with IDDS
Speaker:    Michael Saulino, MD

3:00           Avoiding & Managing Typical & Atypical Surgical Complications in Patients with IDDS & When to Seek Neurological Consult
Speaker:    Line Jacques, MD

3:20           Complex Spine Surgery in Patients with IDDS
Speaker:    Sigurd Berven, MD

3:40           Panel Q&A
Speaker:    All

Meritage B | 2:00 - 4:00

Radiofrequency Treatment of Spine & Musculoskeletal Pain:
Basic Principles & Clinical Applications

2:00            Understanding the Radiofrequency Principles & Methods to Modulate Lesion Size (No Distribution)
Speaker:    David A. Provenzano, MD

2:30            Cervical & Lumbar Spine
Speaker:    Michael J. DePalma, MD

3:00            Sacroiliac Joint
Speaker:    Aaron K. Calodney, MD

3:30            Genicular Nerve
Speaker:    Timothy T. Davis, MD

Meritage A | 4:30 - 6:15

Improving Safety for Neuromodulation & Intrathecal Therapy:
The Neuromodulation Appropriateness Committee and Polyanalgesic Consensus Conference Recommendations

4:30           Infection Prevention & Control
Speaker:    David A. Provenzano, MD

5:00           Anticoagulation Therapy Management for Implantable Therapies
Speaker:    B. Todd Sitzman, MD, MPH

5:30           Safety Guidelines for the Reduction of Severe Neurological Injury
Speaker:    Peter S. Staats, MD, MBA

6:00           Q&A
Speaker:    Panel

Meritage B | 4:30 - 6:15

A Multidisciplinary Approach to Patients with Spinal Disorders

4:30           Variability in approaches to spinal disorders: The Call for Interdisciplinary Collaboration & Quality of Care
Speaker:     Sigurd H. Berven, MD

4:45            An Evidence-based Approach to Symptomatic Nerve Compression: Lumbar Spinal Stenosis & Disc Herniation

5:15            An Evidence-based Approach to Adult Spinal Deformity

5:45            An Evidence-based Approach to Back Pain Without Symptomatic Nerve Compression or Deformity

Whole-Patient Care

07:45am Penney Cowan

The Future of Opioid Therapy:
Changing Paradigms & Emerging Research

9:00              Current Climate of Opioid Prescribing in the United States: An Evolving Paradigm
Speaker:      Samir Sheth, MD

9:30               Emerging Research & Potential Solutions
Speaker:       Gregory Scherrer, PharmD, PhD

Controversies & Challenges in Modern Pain Management

11:00          Medical Cannabis & Opioids
Speaker:    Tim Furnish, MD

11:45          The Complexities of Opioid Titration & Opioid Use Disorder
Speaker:    Angella Barr, MD

12:30          Balancing Societal and Individual Benefits and Risks of Prescription Opioid Use
Speaker:    Mark Schumacher, MD, PhD


Keynote 2017

A photo of Warren Zapol at the Napa Pain Conference

Committee 2017

Calodney - Square
Chang-Chien G - Website
Headshot of Penney Cowan
Head shot of Tim Davis
Head shot for Leo Kapural
Headshot of Prof. Sten Lindahl
lp 2023

Faculty 2017

Head shot of Michael Amster
aydin - ratio
Head shot of Sigurd Berven
Calodney - Square
Headshot of Penney Cowan
Head shot of Tim Davis
Head shot of Charles De Mesa
Furnish, Timothy, MD, Pain Med
Head shot for Leo Kapural
McCormick Zachary - Square
lp 2023
Richter Erich - Headshot
Head shot of Dr. Mark Schumacher

Pre-Conference 2017

aydin - ratio
Head shot of Kim Bayless
Calodney - Square
Chang-Chien G - Website
Head shot of Tim Davis
lp 2023
Head shot of Kimberley Shaul