About the Legacy Lecture

Howard Fields speaking at Napa Pain

The Legacy Lecture was established in 2015 and is delivered annually at the Napa Pain Conference by the seminal thinkers, researchers, and clinicians in pain and neuroscience.

Carol A. Warfield, MD

Edward Lowenstein Distinguished Professor of Anaesthesia, Harvard Medical School Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center [...]

Penney Cowan

Founder, American Chronic Pain Association Member, Interagency Pain Research Coordinating Committee of the National Institute of Health In 1980 Penney Cowan founded [...]

Elliot S. Krames, MD

Recipient of the 2017 Legacy Lecture Elliot S. Krames, MD, is a board-certified anesthesiologist who has been practicing pain medicine solely since [...]

Peter S. Staats, MD, MBA, FIPP

Chief Medical Officer, SPR Therapeutics Past President, North American Neuromodulation Society (NANS) Past President, American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians (ASIPP) Past [...]

Howard L. Fields, MD, PhD

Founder, UCSF Pain Management Center Professor Emeritus of Neurology and Physiology, UCSF Center for Integrative Neuroscience Howard L. Fields, MD, PhD joins [...]

Eric J. Grigsby, MD, MBA

Founder, CEO of Neurovations: Napa Pain Institute, N3 Laboratories, Neurovations Clinical Research, Neurovation Education and Napa Surgery Center Eric J. Grigsby, MD, [...]

Tony L. Yaksh, PhD

Professor: Anesthesiology and Pharmacology Director: Anesthesiology Research Laboratory Editor in Chief:  Frontiers Journal of Pain Research University of California, San Diego Tony [...]

Michael Stanton-Hicks, MBBS, Dr.Med.(Düs), FFARCS (FRCA), FCAI (HON), ABPM, FIPP

Consultant, Department of Pain Management, Cleveland Clinic Executive Editor, Pain Practice Fellow, Royal College of Surgeons of England Fellow, Royal College of [...]

Daniel B. Carr, MD, FABPM

Professor Emeritus of Public Health and Community Medicine; ​Program Director and Founder, MS in Pain, Research Education & Policy Program, Tufts University [...]