Director, Center for the Genetics of Host Defense

2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Bruce Beutler, MD   discovered an important family of receptors that allow mammals to sense infections when they occur, triggering a powerful inflammatory response. For this work he received the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

Dr. Beutler received his undergraduate degree from the University of California at San Diego in 1976, and his MD degree from the University of Chicago in 1981. After two years of residency at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, he became a postdoctoral fellow and then an Assistant Professor at the Rockefeller University (1983-1986), where he isolated mouse tumor necrosis factor (TNF) and was the first to recognize TNF as a key executor of the inflammatory response. Returning to Dallas in 1986 as an HHMI investigator, he designed recombinant inhibitors of TNF that are widely used in the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis and other inflammatory diseases. He also used TNF as a biological endpoint in order to identify the receptor for bacterial lipopolysaccharide (LPS). This he achieved by positionally cloning the Lps mutation of mice, known to prevent all biological responses to LPS, including TNF production. He thus concluded that Toll-like receptor 4 (TLR4) acts as the signaling core of the LPS receptor and proposed that other TLRs might also recognize conserved molecular signatures of infection.

Moving in 2000 to the Scripps Research Institute, Dr. Beutler developed the largest mouse mutagenesis program in the world, and applied a forward genetic approach to decipher the signaling pathways activated by TLRs. He also identified many other molecules with non-redundant function in the immune response.  Returning to UT Southwestern in 2011, he developed a means of instantly identifying mutations responsible for both quantitative and qualitative phenotypes.  This allowed rapid discovery of many new components of the immune system.

Sessions with Neurovations Education

Napa Pain Conference, 2015

  • 3rd Annual Lindahl Lecture


  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, The University of California at San Diego, USA
  • Dinstinguished Service Award, the University of Chicago, USA
  • Korsmeyer Award, USA
  • Rabbi Shai Shacknai Memorial Prize, Israel
  • Drexel Medicine Prize in Immunology, USA
  • Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, Sweden
  • Shaw Prize, PRC
  • Professional Achievement Citation, University of Chicago
  • Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research, USA
  • Will Rogers Institute Annual Prize for Scientific Research, USA
  • Frederik B. Bang Award, USA
  • Balzan Prize, Switzerland and Italy
  • Gran Prix Charles-Leopold Mayer from the Academie des Sciences, France
  • William B. Coley Award, USA
  • Robert Koch Prize, Germany

Professional Associations

  • Academy of Athens, Greece (2015)
  • Royal Academy of Medicine, Belgium (2015)
  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences, USA (2013)
  • German Academy of Sciences (Leopoldina) (2012)
  • European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) (2009)
  • The National Academy of Medicine, USA (2008)
  • The National Academy of Sciences, USA (2008)
  • Association of American Physicians (2001)
  • American Society for Clinical Investigation (1990)