Header Image

2018 Faculty

Conference Director

Eric J. Grigsby, MD, MBA

Founder & Medical Director, Napa Pain Institute, Spine & Pain Center of Kaua'i, Redwood Pain Institute

Founder, CEO of The SpectrumCare Group, Including the Napa Pain Institute, Spine and Pain Center of Kauai, N3 Laboratories, Redwood Pain Institute, Neurovations Clinical Research, and the Napa Surgery Center


Jennifer Doudna, PhD

Co-discoverer of CRISPR-Cas9 Gene Editing; Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology, UC Berkeley

Co-recipient of the 2018 Kavli Prize in Nanoscience Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, Li Ka Shing Chancellor's Chair in Biomedical and Health Sciences and Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology, UC Berkeley Bio…

Sten Lindahl, MD, PhD, FRCA

Chair Emeritus of the Nobel Committee in Physiology or Medicine

2009 Chair of the Nobel Assembly
2001-2002 Chair of the Nobel Committee
Member of the Nobel Assembly for the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1996-2012. Vice chair, 1999-2000
Professor Emeritus, Karolinska Institutet, Department of Physiology and Pharmacology

Program Committee

George Chang Chien, DO
Director for the Center for Regenerative Medicine, Southern California University
Harold J. Cordner, MD
Founder, Florida Pain Management Associates
Lawrence Poree, MD, PhD, MPH
Professor & Director of Neuromodulation Service, Department of Anesthesia & Perioperative Care, University of California San Francisco
Mark Schumacher, MD, PhD
Professor & Chief, Division of Pain Medicine, UCSF Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care
Penney Cowan
Founder & CEO, the American Chronic Pain Association (ACPA)
Robert Bonakdar, MD, FAAFP, FACN, DAAPM
Director of Pain Management, Scripps Center For Integrative Medicine; Past President, Academy of Integrative Pain Management
Roger B. Fillingim, PhD
Distinguished Professor and Director, University of Florida, Pain Research and Intervention Center of Excellence; Immediate Past President of the American Pain Society

Conference Faculty

Allan Basbaum, PhD
Professor & Chair, Department of Anatomy, UCSF
Amitabh Gulati, MD
Director, Chronic Pain, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Annu Navani, MD
Founder and CEO, Comprehensive Spine & Sports Center
Avinash Ramchandani, MD, MBA
Pain Management, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation Physician, Redwood Pain Institute
Carolyn Fairbanks, PhD
Associate Department Head and Professor, Department of Pharmaceutics, University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy
Christopher Gharibo, MD
Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology, NYU School of Medicine
Christy Davies, MBA
Business Strategist, Physicians Success Rx
Corey W. Hunter, MD
Executive Director, Ainsworth Institute of Pain Management
Daniel S. Choi, MD, MBA
Lead Physician, Spine & Pain Center of Kaua'i
Donna Kalauokalani, MD, MPH
Founder, Folsom Pain Management
Eric Lee, MD
Pain Specialist, Summit Pain Alliance
Gail McGlothlen, DNP, RN-BC
Doctor of Nursing Practice, Napa Pain Institute
Henry K. Lee, DO
Medical Director, Integrative Sports and Spine
Howard L. Fields, MD, PhD
Founder, UCSF Pain Management Center, Professor Emeritus of Neurology and Physiology, UCSF Center for Integrative Neuroscience
Jeff Kramer, PhD
Founder, Volta Research
Joseph Shurman, MD
Anesthesiologist, Chair of Pain Management/Palliative Care, Scripps Memorial Hospital
Karl Zarse, MD
Founder, Idaho Spine and Pain
Katy Moncivais, PhD
Independent Regenerative Medicine Consultant
Line Jacques, MD, MSc, FRCS(C)
Chief of Peripheral Nerve & Pain Surgery, Professor and Vice Chair of Clinical Neurological Surgery, UCSF Department of Neurological Surgery
Lisa J. Stearns, MD
Founder & Medical Director, Center for Pain and Supportive Care
Mark A. Mahan, MD
Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery, University of Utah
Marko Bodor, MD
Founder, Bodor Clinic, Regenerative Spine & Sports Medicine
Nancy E. Lane, MD
Endowed Professor of Medicine, Rheumatology, and Aging Research, Director for the Center for Musculoskeletal Health, UC Davis
Prasad Shirvalkar, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor in Anesthesiology and Neurology, UCSF
Ramesh M. Singa, MD, MHS
Lead physician, Napa Pain Institute
Steven Richeimer, MD
Chief, Division of Pain Medicine, Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California
Tracy Jackson, MD
Associate Professor of Anesthesiology, Division of Pain Medicine, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Vinita Singh, MD
Director of Cancer Pain, Chief Quality Officer for Pain Division, Assistant Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, Emory University School of Medicine