Header Image

The Legacy of Lecture

Honoring the Lasting Legacy of Leaders in our Field

Elliot Krames, MD

Founding editor of the journal Neuromodulation: Technology at the Neural Interface
Friday, August 18 at the 24th Annual Napa Pain Conference 

Dr. Krames is a pioneer in pain and neuroscience, and one of the leading experts in the field of intraspinal analgesia. He is a world-recognized leader and educator in the field of neuromodulation for pain control, has published extensively on implantable technologies for pain management and has conducted national and international conferences on pain an the science of neuromodulation.

Among Dr. Krames’ awards and honors are:

  • the President’s Award for Outstanding Service from the North American Neuromodulation Society in 2003 and Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011
  • the International Neuromodulation Society’s Giant of Neuromodulation Award in 2013
  • the American Academy of Pain Medicine’s President’s Award for Promoting the Science of Pain Medicine in 2014

Dr. Krames has published more than 100 research papers, serves on several editorial boards, and co-edited a number of books, including Operative Neuromodulation: Volume 1: Functional Neuroprosthetic Surgery in 2007 with Professor Damianos Sakas and Brian Simpson, MA, MD, FRCS, and Neuromodulation, Volumes 1 – 2 in 2009 with professors P. Hunter Peckham and Ali Rezai.

Dr. Krames was the founding editor of Neuromodulation: Technology at the Neural Interface, the journal of the International Neuromodulation Society, serving as Editor-in-Chief from 1998 until September 2009 when he became Emeritus Editor-in-Chief.

Dr. Krames served as INS President from 2006 to 2009, as Immediate Past President from 2009 to 2011, and since 2011 has been Emeritus Director-at-Large.

Past Legacy Lecture Speakers

The First Annual Legacy address was delivered by Michael Stanton-Hicks, MD — renowned clinician, innovator and mentor to many — at the 22nd Annual Napa Pain Conference. With this inaugural lecture, we hoped to honor the foundational contributions of leaders in our field. Today’s clinicians, scientists and researchers are deeply indebted to the seminal thinkers, early advocates for pain management, and scientific powerhouses whose outsize contributions to our field forged a path for us to follow.

Dr. Tony L. Yaksh presented the 2016 Legacy Lecture. Dr. Yaksh is the 2015 recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the North American Neuromodulation Society, and is widely regarded as a leader in pain medicine, whose singular contributions to the field have left a broad and lasting mark.